JULY 20, 2019


First of two parts
Davao City, Philippines: I had the opportunity to attend the last of the three pre-State of the Nation Address organized by the Office of the Cabinet Secretary and the President Communication Operations Office held in SMX Convention Center, Davao City with the theme “Tatak ng Pagbabago 2019: Patuloy na Katatagan.”

“The administration is steadfast in its resolve to maintain peace and order and to strengthen resilience of communities, thereby, enabling the Filipino people to live in a secure and peaceful nation,” according to the PCOO’s briefer released.

Environment Secretary Roy Cimatu, also the chairman of the Climate Change Adaptation, Mitigation, and Disaster Risk Reduction (CCAM-DRR) Cluster, presented its accomplishments and future directions in preserving and maintaining the country’s ecological integrity.


The CCAM-DRR was created pursuant to Executive Order 24 issued on May 16, 2017. It focuses on the conservation and protection of the environment and natural resources, and serves as a venue for discussing inter-related concerns on climate change and disaster risk management. It also takes the lead in the effective integration of policies and programs on climate risk management, disaster risk reduction, and sustainable development. The cluster shall pursue the following objectives:

– Increase climate change resiliency of rural communities through increased agricultural productivity, water sufficiency, food security and climate and disaster risk-resilient development;

– Intensify sustainable management of natural resources through the adaptation of ridge-to-reef approach and sustainable integrated area development;

– Manage natural resources through strict enforcement of, and compliance with environmental standards and safeguards to achieve sustainable and resilient ecosystems;

– Ensure inclusive, people-centered, and sector-wide disaster mitigation, preparedness and quick emergency response, recovery and rehabilitation from natural and/or human-induced emergencies; and

– Promote and protect the Philippine national interest in adhering to international environment commitments.

The cluster is co-chaired by Defense Secretary Delfin Lorenzana. Twenty-one national government agencies are part of the cluster. The cluster secretariat is handled by the Climate Change Commission.


(Read More)